Been really busy!…

Sorry I haven’t finished the online games section as I promised.  Things got really hectic here recently and I have not had as much time as I would like to devote to the site.

On the way out recently, we heard a lot of shouting and what sounded like a PA system coming from the nearby park, wandering over to have a look, we saw there were police and media and a large crowd of onlookers gathered around a stage in the park.

A few months ago, I was invited to attend a ‘consultation’ with the local council and residents about their plans to erect a new leisure facility there.

I talked, I gave a video interview, I drank lots of coffee!.  By the end, when the council were packing up and leaving, I noticed that the overwhelming majority of people had chosen a space (out of two offered) next to the existing leisure facility for the construction so it was close and away from the main road.

Well it turns out that the council had ignored the majority of residents and placed it right near the main road and the pub.

So much for a ‘public consultation!’ is it still considered a consultation if you have already made your mind up and spent the money?.

It was a big event, Craig David opened it and there was a Tae Kwon Do demonstration and a couple of dance performances by local youth groups.

I would have had a few more pictures for you but my camera died and the batteries I recently bought did not last two seconds (cheap batteries I guess).

I think it is a great thing for the local people as it will encourage exercise and sports, however nothing is ever truly vandal proof (as the makers claim) and I imagine it won’t be long before this expensive area is reduced to a dangerous assortment of broken equipment and roaming teenagers.

Oh well.  We can only hope the makers are true to their word!.

What is the adizone?

Southampton gets set for London 2012 with the new adizone

Daily Echo Coverage

After that spot of excitement, we made our way to Totton and tried to find the nursing home we knew was around there somewhere.

We walked for miles, got lost, found a pub and asked for directions and eventually found it at the top of a hill in the utter middle of nowhere! it was lovely though and the view was gorgeous, with the trees, fields and wildlife not often seen in the city.

Of course when we left, it was pitch black without any street lights and we had to take our lives in our hands until we came back to civilisation, entered the pub from earlier, had a few beers and a lovely meal before walking home!.

Add to all this the difficulties of trying to arrange a wedding and you can see how time gets tied up and things don’t get done! :wink:.

I have also applied for a management position recently, and I hope to hear from that in the next week or two, so keep your fingers crossed for me! 😉

I hope you can all bear with me during this difficult time and I hope to reward your patience with some great links and posts!.

~ by Terence Bennett on March 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “Been really busy!…”

  1. It is simple to see that you are chuffed about your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
