Revreese.com Hacked!

I got hacked.

It had to happen sooner or later, luckily I backed up the other day!.

I only found it because I was told in my dashboard that someone had linked to me.  Following the link I found a random swedish site with no apparent link at all on the page.

Looking in the source for the page instead, I found all the links to parts of revreese.com that don’t exist according to my knowledge.

Checking the server, I found a folder called “heoho” in my public_html directory that shouldn’t be there, containing hacker tools, spam and goodness only knows what else.

Luckily, a quick email to the suberb tech guys at Just Host had the junk removed and blocked within the hour!.

Everything should now return to normal, but please let me know at (adminATrevreeseDOTcom) if you find anything suspicious so I can get rid of it.

My apologies for any inconvenience while this junk was on the site, and I have taken steps to ensure (as much as possible) that it never happens again.

Just a friendly warning to my fellow webmasters about this as I have not seen anything on the internet about this as yet so it must be new.

I strongly encourage all readers to change their passwords for their online logins using the following tips:

Secure Password Generator

Creating Strong Passwords

10 Tips for Creating Secure Passwords

5 Tips to keep passwords secret

Don’t forget to update your sites software (in my case WordPress 3.0) to the latest versions and all your plugins (if any) to ensure maximum security.

Stay Safe.  Stay Secure.

~ by Terence Bennett on June 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
